Related Books

The Hierarchies of Cuckoldry and Bankruptcy
Language: en
Pages: 93
Authors: Charles Fourier
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher: Imagining Science

Admired by Marx and Engels, the Surrealists, the Situationists, Walter Benjamin and Roland Barthes, the great utopian socialist Charles Fourier (1772-1837) has been many things to many people: a proto-feminist, a Surrealist ancestor, a cantankerous cosmologist, a social critic and humorist and to this day one of France's truest visionary
Superman is an Arab
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Joumana Haddad
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-09-17 - Publisher: Saqi

This is not a manifesto against men in general. Nor is it a manifesto against Arab men in particular. It is, however, a howl in the face of a particular species of men: the macho species, Supermen, as they like to envision themselves. But Superman is a lie. In this
Look at the Bunny
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Dominic Pettman
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-03-29 - Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

Are totems merely a thing of the distant past? Or might it be that our sleek new machines are producing totemic forces which we are only beginning to recognize? This book asks to what degree today's media technologies are haunted by a Freudian ghost, functioning as totems or taboos (or
Saint-Simonians in Nineteenth-Century France
Language: en
Pages: 241
Authors: Pamela M. Pilbeam
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-02 - Publisher: Springer

Saint-Simonians were a group of young engineers and doctors who proposed original solutions to the social and banking crises of the early nineteenth century. Through an examination of the lives, ideals and activities of these men and women, the book analyses the influence of the Saint-Simonians on nineteenth-century French society.
Paradise Now
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Chris Jennings
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-01-12 - Publisher: Random House

For readers of Jill Lepore, Joseph J. Ellis, and Tony Horwitz comes a lively, thought-provoking intellectual history of the golden age of American utopianism—and the bold, revolutionary, and eccentric visions for the future put forward by five of history’s most influential utopian movements. In the wake of the Enlightenment and