Related Books

Shaping the Fractured Self
Language: en
Pages: 228
Authors: Heather Taylor Johnson
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher: Apollo Books

Of course not all great art has its genesis in pain, and not all pain-not even a fraction-leads to the partial consolations of art. But if lancing an abscess is the surest way to healing, can poetry offer that same cleansing of emotional wounds? Shaping the Fractured Self showcases twenty-eight
The Best Australian Poems 2017
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Sarah Holland-Batt
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-06 - Publisher: Black Inc.

Award-winning poet, critic, editor and academic Sarah Holland-Batt takes the helm again as editor of this year’s Best Australian Poems. Previous contributors include Judith Beveridge, Stephen Edgar, Fiona Wright, Clive James, Lisa Gorton, Robert Adamson, Dorothy Porter, John Kinsella, David Malouf, Cate Kennedy and Les Murray. Sarah Holland-Batt is the
The Routledge Companion to Australian Literature
Language: en
Pages: 450
Authors: Jessica Gildersleeve
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-23 - Publisher: Routledge

In recent years, Australian literature has experienced a revival of interest both domestically and internationally. The increasing prominence of work by writers like Christos Tsiolkas, heightened through television and film adaptation, as well as the award of major international prizes to writers like Richard Flanagan, and the development of new,
Jean Harley Was Here
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Heather Taylor Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-02 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Finalist for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction For readers of Everything I Never Told You and When I’m Gone, a profoundly moving, heartwarming debut about family, relationships, and what we leave behind. Jean Harley—wife, mother, lover, dancer—is a shining light in the lives of those who know and
Just Off Message
Language: en
Pages: 278
Authors: IP (Interactive Publications Pty Ltd)
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-01 - Publisher: Interactive Publications Pty Ltd

From the ashes of the Penguin Australia Poetry Series, a new publishing house took wing. New and emerging creators, as well as established voices sought an independent publishing house with a global vision and an innovative approach. They found IP. Now, 20 years on, more than forty creators return to