Related Books

Cabinet of Curiosities
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Gordon Grice
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-06 - Publisher: Workman Publishing

Exactly the book for every young explorer who loves finding stuff in nature and bringing it home. Cabinet of Curiosities is a lavishly illustrated introduction to the wonders of natural history and the joys of being an amateur scientist and collector. Nature writer Gordon Grice, who started his first cabinet
The Medicine Cabinet of Curiosities
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Nicholas Bakalar
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-07-21 - Publisher: Macmillan

Delightful doses of medical miscellany about wacky doctors and their curious patients, from their smallest bones (the stapes) to their heaviest organs (the liver) In this addictive collection of trivia, Nicholas Bakalar, the "Vital Signs" columnist for The New York Times, spoons out the things you never realized you really
Locupletissimi Rerum Naturalium Thesauri
Language: en
Pages: 589
Authors: Albertus Seba, Irmgard Müsch, Rainer Willmann
Categories: Natural history
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015 - Publisher:

Exotic plants, corals and crocodiles, birds and butterflies. Albertus Seba's extraordinary catalog of natural specimens is not only one of the 18th century's greatest natural history achievements, but also one of the most prized natural history books of all time. It is a beautiful tribute to the breadth and the
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Language: en
Pages: 496
Authors: Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand, Emma Trevayne
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-27 - Publisher: Greenwillow Books

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy
A Cabinet of Byzantine Curiosities
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Anthony Kaldellis
Categories: Byzantine Empire
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Weird, decadent, degenerate, racially mixed, superstitious, theocratic, effeminate, and even hyper-literate, Byzantium has long been regarded by many as one big curiosity. According to Voltaire, it represented "a worthless collection of miracles, a disgrace for the human mind"; for Hegel, it was "a disgusting picture of imbecility." A Cabinet of